The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Freaking out! First HT this weekend...

Paper Bag! Paper Bag! I'm hyperventilating...

I'm set to head off to my first HT (BN) this weekend, it's a recognized one, why not dive in right off the bat, eh?

I am usually NOT nervous before shows. Ask anyone...I am almost too mellow. But, I am freaking out about this! What is my problem? I'm a basket case.

I think it's because I've always gotten to school before a show in the actual ring (my experience is mainly local schooling shows, I have some rated jumper background, but even then you go to school in the ring and then they would change things around for the show). Horse only knows schooling before and is a bit of a "peeker."

Also, our dressage sucks. It should be our strength, but we have lost our way somehow and don't have it back yet.

Oh, and I have the flu, supposedly the four day kind, set to end right before we leave (that's good I guess?)

I'm just hoping that I can somehow enjoy myself - eventers seem a somewhat tolerant lot, so hopefully my fellow competitors can help me find something to help me laugh about?

Any advice to calm me down?
    "Fool! Don't you see now that I could have poisoned you a hundred times had I been able to live without you." Cleopatra VII

I haven't gone to my first one yet as were not ready (still need to school some XC), but I know my dressage is going to suck too. But as long as I make it through the three phases alive and don't get eliminated, I'll be happy So I guess all I have to say is have fun and fill me in on your experience!

Take night time cold medicine...it'll make you mellow!