The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default World War 2 in England--life on the homefront

OK, the topic has become a recent obsession of mine. I don't know why, but as I'm a writer of historical fiction I don't really need to know why--I'm cranking down on one book, it's time to start something new.

What I'd like to know is: any books on the subject you all can recommend? It's always the questions you don't know to ask that will kill you....

Fiction, but very well done. THE POSTMISTRESS by Sarah Blake.

up the hill from the little river (that floods alarmingly often)

More fiction, but written by someone who lived through it: Coming Home, by Rosamunde Pilcher. It's a very easy read, but I find myself going back to it repeatedly.
    Full-time bargain hunter.

Herman Wouk and Leon Uris have written some great books on that era. I'll go through my books and look for authors of others I've enjoyed. I love WWII history, and a well-written historical novel is always a fun read.

Not a book, but the 1942 film "Mrs. Miniver" could probably give you some ideas of things to research.

Fiction, but a good read...

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society

Another vote for Guernsey Potato Peel book. OUTSTANDING. Really vivid and evocative memories of the German occupation of the Channel Islands. Some very difficult scenes.

Not entirely fiction. The author interviewed survivors of the occupation and several of the narratives are word-for-word accounts.
    I realize that I'm generalizing here, but as is often the case when I generalize, I don't care. ~ Dave Barry

Herman Wouk

Talking I have lots to recommend!

Oh my gosh, I love stuff about this time period, too!