The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Expectations when finding a new trainer?

Hi everyone,

After a six year absence, I have decided to get back to riding. I rode for 20 years, and then stopped riding a couple years after I graduated from college. I have no horse at the moment and am looking for weekly lessons. If I find the right place, I would like to consider a lease so I could ride more than once a week, and then consider showing again.

There is a great selection of facilities and levels of trainers in the area I live. I recognize a lot of them from when I rode as a junior. I have a feel for exactly what I am looking for but I cannot get a response from the facilities I have contacted.

Now I know in the horse world things can get crazy and it's not like a 9-5 job, but am I out of line to expect a response within 24-48 hours (not including those crazy show weekends)? I have left voicemails and followed up with emails (if I had them from the web). Should I just continue to follow up? I feel a bit stalkerish but it is frustrating to not hear back from folks I don't recall this being an issue with the barns/trainers I rode with in the past.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks!

If you are near an upcoming show go watch the schooling ring and observe how the trainers work with their clients. Find a few that you like and find out who they are and contact them after the show. Let them know you watched them and liked what you saw. They will know you are serious. If that does not get a response keep looking, customer service is part of this business and too many people forget that. Good luck