The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Anyone an equine flight attendant?

Sounds like a great way to see the world! Anyone do it?
    When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.

I knew a guy about 10 years ago that did it, he used to go all over the world with the horses - he wasn't even horsey but had friends in the horse transport business, lucky guy.

A friend who now lives in Australia was involved in buying and shipping horses to Malaysia for a while. Sometimes some of the horses travelled with shunts (I think that's what they're called, it's a thing stuck in the neck where you put a needle in) so if things looked like they might go a bit pear shaped they could pre-empt any trouble.
    where am I, what day is it, am I still having a good time?

I'm a vet tech (and those ports into the jugular is a catheter ) so I'm ok with dosing tranq etc, just wondering if/how people have gotten the job. I sent a couple of e-mails to some of the bigger air transport co, we'll see how it goes!
    When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.

West of insanity, east of apathy, deep in the heart of Texas.

When I did it many years ago (just once), being able to install a catheter wasn't necessary. They gave you a bottle of Ace, some needles and syringes, a couple of 5 gallon buckets and about 5 1-gallon milk jugs of water to get three horses through a trip from D-FW airport to Frankfurt, Germany. It was fun, and I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

It helps to know someone who's high up in the transport companies. The only reason I got the job was because the German-based company I was working for, had an import company that also dealt in horse transport. The manager of the transport company knew I rode, so called and asked me to groom for an international flight. Fun!
    In loving memory of Laura Jahnke.
    A life lived by example, done too soon.