The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Camelot Auction Horse Is Going To Be Famous

From the ABR Camelot forum:

Hi 63Magnum,
    This Appy at Camelot is the spitting image of Hayseed with the zig-zag blaze and colorful spotted blanket! I have been drawing Hayseed for nearly thirty years now, since 1981. My publisher 'discovered' him in a blog I had up about him last September, and the rest is history with him as the star of my very first-ever children's book, "Hayseed's First Race"!

Sharla Sanders of The Second Race horse rescue and I have been keeping our eyes peeled for that real-life Hayseed to promote my book, and this guy is IT! I came across his pic last night and although the photo showed him facing away from the camera, goosebumps just broke out on my arms and I couldn't get him out of my mind.. then when I saw the photo of him looking at the camera.. I said to myself, this IS Hayseed!!! I sent the link to Sharla and she agreed with me and got cracking on bailing him out....with luck, he is going to become the most famous slaughterhouse rescue in the entire nation! Please do join Hayseed's fanpage on Facebook and stay posted for updates!
    Sally

Awesome!!!

While it is wonderful that this particular horse is now destined for stardom via the lady's book, it is important to point out that at a purchase price of around $800 at the horse dealer's place he was not on the direct route to slaughter. They purchased themselves a nice horse to be the spokeshorse of the book. IMO, no "rescue" here.

Quote Originally Posted by betonbill View Post