The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Letting a horse go on a trial period

I have a person interested in buying my 19 year old sound and steady gelding. She wants to pay for him and then take him on trial for two weeks to her home about three hours away from me. She wants to use him for trail riding so I understand her reason for wanting a trial period as she wants to see if he's good for her and suits her riding purpose. I have never done a trial period before on either a horse I've bought or one I've sold so need some advice on how to proceed.....

Personally, I would not allow a trial off my own property under any circumstances, and most especially not so far away that I could not easily pop in and check on the horse. Allow the potential buyer to take the horse on a trail ride at or near your property, in a group or alone, whatever her parameters are, but keep control of the horse until he is sold.

If you do go through with this, though, I would recommend a very detailed contract designed to protect you and your horse. I would structure it as a full lease, spelling out exactly what day and time it starts, what conditions permit return of the horse, yours and the buyer's responsibilities, how the horse may be used, etc. Specify that only the leaser/potential buyer may ride the horse. Spell out who is responsible for vet bills if the horse becomes ill or injured on her watch.

Require payment in full and spell out specifically what circumstances will allow return of the horse for a refund. Make the refund minus a fee sufficient to compensate you for having the horse off the market. Think through everything that could go wrong and cover it in the contract.

Again, though, I would urge against allowing a trial at all.
    Equinox Equine Massage

In the depth of winter, I finally learned that there was in me invincible summer.