The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Ground rod confusion. help!

Ok, I swear I've been reading through my sites, instructions, etc. but I can't figure out the specifics... I hear/see everything about just "driving the ground rods in" but are you supposed to make a trench for everything first? I had in my head that you dig a shallow trench, sink the ground rods in that, run the wire and clamp it in the trench, then cover it all up. But then I saw somewhere else that said you need you have your clamps above ground and visible for regular inspection and maintenance! I'm confused. Help!

I'm not an expert by any means, but this is pretty much how we did ours:
    http://www.kencove.com/fence/32_Grou...s_resource.php. It runs along side of our barn, in an area that is not open to animals, but we walk by there all the time, so I wanted the rods and wire buried so we didn't trip on them. If we had to check anything, it wouldn't be that hard to get to them as they are only about 4" below the surface.

OK. We are in the middle of electrifying another Electrobraid paddock, so I went out and checked around. The way my DH has set the ground rods they are driven into the ground at about a 45 degree angle, or whatever angle he could get with all the rocks around here. Dug, driven, whatever, the end is sticking out of the earth about three inches, and he has put a cinder block or big rock there. The clamp and wire are fastened there above grade. All the ones I could find have been sited outside the paddocks about a foot, and somewhat out of the way.
    He's been running his gate wires about three to six inches below grade, he uses a fancy tree transplanting spade and just cuts grooves in the earth like a ditch witch would and lays the wire in them, shoves them down carefully, then does this little shuffle with his feet to close the gap in the groove.