The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

West of insanity, east of apathy, deep in the heart of Texas.

Question Thinking about teaching my teenager to drive. Thoughts?

So my big ISH gelding isn't as young as he used to be. Neither am I. I am sure, in Ireland, he was taught to drive (or at least long-lined). I have done neither with him, and am wondering how realistic it is to try train a teenager to drive. He's a very smart horse, and picks new things up incredibly quickly. He's also very brave and quiet in new situations, so temperamentally, I think he's suited.

Thoughts, please?
    In loving memory of Laura Jahnke.
    A life lived by example, done too soon.
    www.caringbridge.org/page/laurajahnke/

I'm really new at this, but it sounds like you should give it a try!

Sounds like a good candidate!
    Luistano Stallion standing for 2013: Wolverine UVF
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8IZPHDzgX3s

Usually older horses are fairly easy to teach driving, IF all the brain parts cooperate. Often very smooth transition, though you still need to do all the needed groundwork on lines to get vocal commands learned, then lots of dragging stuff before THINKING of hitching.

If you have not driven much or recently, you had best find an instructor and get some lessons down. Rein feel is much different, very easy to be heavy on his face with length of lines or long lines. Some educated horses don't LIKE you hanging on them! Feels like punishment.

Perhaps you could find a Trainer/Instructor and learn along with the horse. Trainer has looked at lots of driving animals, and experienced eyes will see things developing that you may not notice. Stopping, changing or fixing harness, ring situation, can prevent an "incident" from ever happening. You see horse swishing tail, haven't a clue what his problem is or misread the situation in the Driving setting.