The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

StudentRider Guest

Default Summer horse programs/camps

Hello,

I am a college student (and equestrian) doing research for a marketing class, and I was hoping to get some insight from you all on what you look for in summer horse programs or camps for kids. What have you seen in the past that appealed to you or what would you like to see improved based on your experiences? If possible, I'd love to hear your thoughts about schedules, facilities, instruction, curriculum, safety, or anything else that comes to mind.
    Thank you so much for your help!

StudentRider

I'm a college student, so no kids here, but I am working at a summer camp this year.

When I was looking around, I preferred camps that had at least some of their horses year round. I think it shows a level of dedication to the horses, they tend to be better cared for, and the camp knows the horses well.

The more instructors the better, even if they're just horse and kid smart junior counselors. You just need eyes and hands. Obviously the official horse staff should be knowledgeable not only about horses, but also about kids and how to teach.

Facilities should be clean and safe. This is where it really depends on the level of camp. If it's a $1,000+ a week "equestrian camp" I expect a quality barn with stalls and turn outs. Several arenas. Grooming and wash stalls. Well manicured property, etc. If it's a summer camp that happens to have a horse program, I expect shade and water for the horses. Safe fencing. A proper riding area whether it's trails, fences pasture type area, or manicured arena. It should be safe and decently maintained but doesn't need to be fancy.