The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Owning Horses in the Military

Another horse/military thread prompted me to post this question.

Are any of you in the military (or married to someone who is) and own a horse?

Have you been able to keep your horses as you move around? Have you seen any impact (positive or negative) on your horses? Experiences boarding on base and off base? Leaving your horse behind when moved overseas?

Just looking for some input from people who have "been there, done that"...

Thanks in advance!

I have limited experience with this.

But, my ex fiance was a pilot in the AF and we were stationed in TX and were assigned overseas as well. Plus I've moved quite a bit.

When we got our assignment to TX, we took a trip down there, found a place to live and I started hunting for boarding. At that particular base, there was no on base boarding. I was able though to find a great coop situation. All I had to do was ask EVERYONE I ran into if they knew anyone who boarded horses. The real estate agent actually pointed me to the lady whom I eventually boarded with. But I also looked at barns I'd found listed on the board at a tack/feed store.

I don't think that finding a boarding barn is really an issue. What CAN be an issue (I've learned) is the fluctuation in cost. Were I to do it all over again, I would never have had more than one horse. My move from TX to MI took me from 150/mo total for 3 to 5 times that in MI. So just keep in mind that costs vary from region to region.

It can be difficult anytime you move to a new area to get your "land legs" on the local community. No matter where you go, there are folks "in the know" about the good barns, the bad ones that look good at first glance, and the really bad ones. If you can try to hook up with the local horse community when you get your PCS orders, it makes things easier.