The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default help finding NOVA/MD boarding

Hey I am living in Arlington looking for boarding in Northern VA. I know VA equestrian has 800+ listings of farms but I'm finding it overwhelming looking at all the farm links then discovering the farm is 6 hours away from DC. It's getting frustrating. So in desperation... I'm here.

So here are the stats:
    I've got a 14.2ish quarter pony/hony gelding. I'm a fairly good amateur rider and ride him about 2x a week and usually supplement that with a ride by a pro or good barn kid 1x/week. He does w-t-c, crossrails and I'd like to teach him his changes and start learning courses. He's cute but not fancy, and I'm looking for a h/j place, but not necessarily a show barn. Just a nice low key place, but with a good enough trainer to help me with him. I also love to trail ride him, and someplace with trails abutting it would be amazing. I'd also like a place with all day turnout with a group. And an indoor ring for the winter. I live right on 66 and am a student so I can get to the barn at odd hours not during traffic... so I'm hoping for a place within an hour of Arlington (Rosslyn/Courthouse end).

Lots of wishes on this list. Anyone have any ideas? Thank you SO much in advance!!

EDITED to add Maryland to title, since a few people haev PM'ed me and said there are good options
    Last edited by French Twist; Apr. 16, 2010 at 09:27 AM.
    Bigeq.com First in Hunter/Jumper Sales Online