The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

havealittlehope Guest

Default Working student positions?

Hi guys, I'm new here! My name is Jordan!

I have been on the hunt for a working student position(a long term one) for a few months now with no luck.
    I don't have a lot of showing experience, but I have been riding for 10 years. I ride normally 4 days a week. I would love a position at an eventing barn, but I would gladly take one at a dressage barn too. I guess I am just looking for some input on where I should look, if you guys have any suggestions?
    I am graduating on the 30th of May, and then I have family vacation from the 17th to the 27th, but then after that I am looking to start somewhere. Locally there aren't any barns that take working students, so I am looking throughout the US. I have used yard and groom, and gotten in contact with a few people, but nothing has really come of it.
    If you guys have any advice, that would be much appreciated.
    Thanks guys !

I know of several positions. E-mail me at margaret@mythiclandingevents.com for details.
    Take Your Equestrian Business to the Next Level: http://www.mythiclanding.com/
    Follow me at http://mythiclanding.blogspot.com or http://twitter.com/mythiclanding

Thumbs up

You may want to contact Caroline Atherholt in VA-she has taken working students in the past and is AWESOME!!!!!!!!

havealittlehope Guest

Okay thank you!

Also a note on replying via Yard and Groom and not hearing back.... If the job lister isn't a premium member of Yard and Groom and you reply via their site instead of just emailing the employer directly, the employer can't see your inquiry unless they offer up $250. So if the yard and groom ad offers an email address, use THAT, because their messaging system might not let your prospective employer see your response at all.

Happy hunting!

havealittlehope Guest