The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

View Poll Results: Do you prefer to kick a little or pull a little?

Voters
227. You may not vote on this poll
  • I would rather have to pull a little.

134 59.03%
  • I would rather have to kick a little.

93 40.97%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Do you like to kick a little or pull a little?

I asked this question a couple of years ago but thought the time had come around to ask it again. Plus, last time I got some great responses! And with all the TB vs. WB threads lately it is clear that there are just as many slow TBs as there are fast WBs!

So do you prefer to "kick a little" or to "pull a little?" (Generalities, of course!)

This is kind of a current topic for me because I've always ridden horses that had their own engines. Then I started riding a horse who really needed a LOT of LEG, and it just isn't a natural ride for me and I find it kind of difficult.

So I think that I prefer a horse whose default gear is "go," rather than "stand still."

Anyone else?
    Quote Originally Posted by tidy rabbit View Post
    Oh, well, clearly you're not thoroughly indoctrinated to COTH yet, because finger pointing and drawing conclusions are the cornerstones of this great online community.

Oh I totally agree with you!! I much prefer a horse with a good deal of gas! For me I think besides it being more fun, a horse that is naturally more forward gives me more confidence to jumps rather than one who needs more encouragement.

I prefer "GO" to "slow."

I find it easier for me to ride quietly and have to steady a more forward ride, then to have to ask, ask, ask for what I need/want.

My horse is ask, ask, ask but I am currently riding a go-go go without any pull, pull, pull. Just alot of engine!

I perfer both! Riding the no engine to engine mixes up my riding~!