The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Getting Over Fear of Riding Outside The Ring... Help?

So today I rode outside in the big grass field with 6 other horses and my trainer because the weather was so nice. I was PETRIFIED. My horse is a total packer who would most probably rather eat grass than canter madly around. However, he was a little "revved up" and was going rather fast (at least to me). And I was a nervous wreck.

Now: I have had no bad experiences outside the ring in my 6 years of riding. I don't mind doing any kind of ring work or anything. I have never fallen off or had anything happen while on trail or riding outside. So there's no reason I should have this fear, right?

I can't figure out what I'm afraid of... and that's the problem. Even going on a short trail ride around the barn freaks me out. Any suggestions for a) what might be causing the irrational fear or b) what I can do to fix it?

TIA, and sorry for the kind of randomness...
    Different flavors of crazy, but totally NUTS. You know its true. - GreyHunterHorse

http://showertimecontemplations.blogspot.com/

I know how you feel, I tend to be a nervous person as well. The only thing that's gotten me over it is that I haven't had a ring for several years now so I've had no choice.

Give yourself time and you'll be fine with it eventually.

I think you're just worried about the lack of boundaries.

I grew up riding with no arena so it's hard for me to relate. I actually PREFER riding outside.

If your horse is good about it then you just need to take a deep breath and DO IT! Sounds like you have a good egg. But being out in the big wide open can be scary. You just need to do it more and have more good experiences!
    A good horseman doesn't have to tell anyone...the horse already knows.

Might be a reason, never an excuse...