The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Building Confidence in an Unconfident Horse

Hey guys! I was just wondering if anyone could offer some confidence building jumping exercises?

A couple weeks ago I started riding a very sweet 7 year old OTTB. He's super willing and rides well except for on the approach to a fence. About five strides away he starts sucking back then in the last two strides he realizes its no big deal and rushes through it. A firm half halt usually fixes the rushing, but I don't know what to about keeping him in front of my leg. He doesn't refuse, just sucks back. Mind you, these fences are low Xs and verticals. (Maybe 18"? If that.) He gets much better after jumping the fence a few times, but I'd still love some suggestions on how to increase his confidence and pace over fences.

Thank you!

Patience and time. I don't know how long this horse has been jumping but it sounds like a typical green horse who simply needs consistent miles where the rider makes big deal of anything. Let the horse figure it out and don't try to make him be confident. If you are quiet and confident and consistent he will pick up on that and grow into a confident horse.

Reed

He's been jumping for a couple of years on and off but nothing consistent. (I'll ask his owner if she wouldn't mind posting some more background information on him.) He seems to enjoy it, but doesn't know quite what to do upon approaching. (He's always very proud of himself after a fence, haha.) As a rider, I've just been keeping it quiet with my leg on and shoulders back and kinda just letting him figure out where to place his feet.

Gridwork