The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default working students at endurance farms

I've been a long time dressage/eventer but I have recently been interested in the sport of endurance. I don't have any connections to people who are involved with endurance and certainly don't know of any farms, and it seems to be very difficult to find anything online. I have been a working student for several big name farms mainly in dressage, both in the US and Europe, and I'd like to possibly find out how I might be able to research possible working student positions at an endurance farm. Is it purely a word to mouth kinda thing? Endurance seems to be hush-hush sport when it comes to online information. I didn't see anything at aerc or endurance.net

I have found a lot of previous jobs at yardandgroom and other various horse job databases, but there isnt anything for endurance farms... any ideas? If you just happen to know of anything could you PM me?
    thanks, xc

You might want to contact the Rojeks at Smoke Rise Farm in VT.
    They breed and compete in endurance, and might be able to take on a working student.
    "It's like a Russian nesting doll of train wrecks."--CaitlinandTheBay

...just settin' on the Group W bench.

There aren't very many "endurance farms." Most people have several nice horses they campaign themselves throughout the ride season. There are a few larger breeder/trainers who specialize in endurance, but no where near the amount of dressage/eventing barns. There isn't a huge market for endurance horses like the other sports. Most endurance riders tend to like to bring their prospects along themselves, not many purchase horses ready made.

If you post where you are, you might get better leads. Good luck!

Pa-eternally laboring in the infinite creative and sustentative work of the universe