The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Embryo Transfer Question

Brand newbie here with first post....so here goes!

Anyone out there ever put together a contract/agreement for embryo transfer with the following?

1. Mare owner (me) isn't willing to sell or do broodmare lease
    2. Mare owner is willing to get mare to vet for all ultrasounds, and visits required for embryo transfer to surrogate mare.

Reasons for not wanting to sell or lease is that the mare has very desirable and hard to find connemara bloodlines (have been reading with interest the recent connemara thread!) but pony has some health issues that require daily meds. Mare is 11 and is ridden and competed on regular basis by my daughter.

My questions are - if anyone has done an agreement like this, what is your time worth and what is a mare's egg worth? Interested party would of course be responsible for all vet and semen collection and shipping fees.

Any thoughts, pros/cons are much appreciated!

I think a lot of the interest disappears as the buyer becomes more educated about the costs involved and no guarantees of success. IMHO, it is usually more cost effective to buy a well bred foal or, better yet, an unstarted two year old.

Only you can place a value on your time. How much would it take to make it worth the inconvenience? How many tries are you willing to provide?

Most important: Get every last detail in writing!!

Best of luck!

ET isn't quite as bleak as Rodawn has painted, IMO. I wish we made 10k off each ET! Generally for our practice, for an ET, you have the regular breeding fees for the donor mare, then the embryo flush is $375 and the transfer is $200 (of course, only if you get an embryo). If you use your own recip, that is it. If you lease one from us it is 2k. Rodawn is right, though in that you can easily rack up huge bills if things don't go well.