The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Eventing trainer/lease or shareboards- south of Chicago

I'm a former hunter and equitation rider looking to get back into riding. After struggling mightily to keep my would-have-been adult jumper sound when I was fresh out of college, I eventually gave up the sport in favor of grad school and a career. Now that I've been working for a few years, I'm ready to get back into it, but in a way that would allow for me to experience some success at the lower levels without a pricey warmblood (hurrah for beginner novice! hurrah for local events!).

Here's my current predicament: I'm not very familiar with the Chicago eventing scene-- just familiar enough to know that I don't have a lot of options in my area (New Lenox-- near Tinley Park, Orland Park, and Joliet). I'm looking for suggestions of trainers who turn out sound horses and competent riders at local horse trials at the novice level, and who themselves are respected horsepeople. I'd like to keep the length of my barn commute down, so the north and northwest suburbs are out, I'm afraid. I'm hoping to find a trainer who would have a capable partner I could lease for my first season- or I'd love to connect with someone who is looking for a competent rider and horseperson to lease/shareboard an old eventing partner they no longer have time to enjoy.

Any leads would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

This weekend, March 27-28, Leslie Law is doing an eventing clinic in Peotone.
    It is located at Eagle Lake Equestrian Center in Peotone, Illinois. I'm not sure exactly where that is, But Peotone isn't that large so I'm sure someone would know. Mike Smith owns the place. You could ask around at the clinic for eventing activities in that immediate area.

Contact Kathryn Schiess Z144930@students.niu.edu

She is a very good instuructor and rider, and has quite a few students.