The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Juggling dressage and hunters - Disaster waiting to happen?

Just curious if anyone else here dabbles in both dressage and hunters with the same horse?

My background is hunters - not competitive, just years of riding lessons. I made the switch to dressage 3-4 years ago. My little APHA (paint) mare never seemed to care much for hunters, but really seems to enjoy dressage even if she'll never excel at it.

Recently, I noticed that the APHA is having a 2-day breed show right here in Northern Virginia! This is the first time there has been a breed show in this area in the 8.5 years since I've had my mare. I simply can't resist a chance to show my mare among her peers and - with any hope - get some show points on her APHA record. The problem is that dressage isn't a recognized APHA class. So... it's back to doing hunters. Not just any hunters either - AQHA/APHA hunters which is in itself completely different.

I took lessons for several years at a local stable run by a woman active in the AQHA show circuit. I contacted her today about taking a few lessons to prep for the APHA show in June. I really feel like I need to refresh my hunter skills and learn the breed circuit way of doing things.

I also want to continue with my dressage lessons and showing this year. I really do enjoy dressage more than hunters.

Do you think I'm going to cause my mare all sorts of confusion working on both dressage and AQHA/APHA style hunters at the same time??? In dressage, we're working on getting my mare to move more forward and work on contact. AQHA/APHA style hunters want slower gaits with minimal contact. By attempting both disciplines at the same time, will I be setting myself up for failure in both?

I'd love to here stories from those of you who do dabble in both dressage and hunters at the same time. Thanks!