The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default To those who trim hooves...

I have been trimming my horses since 2000. Took courses etc and did it myself because there were no barefoot trimmers around me in the desert where I lived.

I live in TN now and the weather is brutal on their feet - we have 9 horses. It has been SO wet and muddy and as spring is sneaking in - their feet are growing a bit more and everyone is starting to look aweful.

I use my skills to encourage the hooves to go concave but its like the feet are just not holding shape. Is it the weather or can someone give me a tip about how to get flat feet to go concave? I trim the bars, even the wall, tend to leave a lot of sole because they walk on them but try so hard to keep weight bearing off. But its like the hooves just are not strong enough. I am thinking I need to start terpentining everyone.

Need pictures

Well, keep in mind too that the environment plays a big role. If they're constantly in soft mucky ground, you're going to have a different foot than if they're nice and dry on harder ground--no matter HOW you're trimming.

How often are you trimming? One thing I've found that has helped me is to do it much more frequently...like a little touch up every two weeks.

It's easier to stay AHEAD than it is to play catch up--especially when it's not costing you anything more than your time.
    A good horseman doesn't have to tell anyone...the horse already knows.

Might be a reason, never an excuse...