The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Smile Some thoughts for the Mom rider

I started riding in October after a 12 year hiatus in which I became a wife a very nice guy and a mom to two beautiful children. I had tried to restart riding before but stuff kept getting in the way. This time around, I had lost 20 lbs and taken up yoga before I started so it wasn't so terribly painful. It is going great and I feel like I forgot to breathe for 12 years and I'm better now.

I had my first schooling show yesterday. I won my division and was totally elated. My husband was there taking pics with my kids (age 6 and almost 4). They were alternately horrible and awesome for the duration of the whole show. By the time I finally got off with my two blue ribbons I ran and picked up my furious little daughter who shrieked "You should do this when you DON'T have KIDS!" and I cried all the way home feeling guilty and thinking that my dreams of getting my own horse this year were just selfish and stupid.

I was deflated. Then last night I talked to dh about it and he chose to quote the movie The Toothfairy: "Nothing you love that much could be a waste of time. The kids will be fine."

Wow. Then another friend quoted her pediatrician to me "Children come to SHARE you life, not rule it."

So, I just thought I'd share my little mom/rider experience this weekend with some other moms who would understand.

I am TOTALLY with you. Mine are 5 and 7. I came back to riding four years ago. When my daughter gives me the weepy eyes when I tell her I'm riding after work, I remind myself that when mommy rides mommy is a better mommy.

I figure it's good for kids to see you doing something you love.

If Mommy ain't happy. NOBODY is happy!

"Children come to SHARE you life, not rule it."