The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Part-time equine writing jobs

I received notice of this available equine writing job in my email inbox today, courtesy of the job site www.indeed.com, which I am registered with. I don't know much about the magazine (I think it is an Ezine) but perhaps someone would be interested in doing this? I do not have the time.

[edit]
    Last edited by Moderator 1; Feb. 25, 2010 at 11:00 AM. Reason: removed link

I'm a journalist, and was excited to see the ad. Until I saw the ad LOL. It might be a cool job for a college student or recent grad to earn a few extra bucks and get a little journalism experience.

But-hourly pay for freelance work and less than $10 per hour to boot? That's really, really lowball. At an outside of two hours per article, that's a whopping $20 per. With extensive interviewing, or something, maybe $30-40. That's between 10%-50% of the going rate of between $75-$200 for a column of that length for an online or print publication.

So, could be a cool opportunity, but takers should be aware that the pay is WAY below market standard.

Ditto what Henry said above. I also got this ad in my inbox and thought it interesting ... until I saw the rate! I responded because I want to identify the mag; the quoted rate is so far below the industry norm as to be laughable.
    Equinox Equine Massage

In the depth of winter, I finally learned that there was in me invincible summer.
    -Albert Camus

I don't think this is unusual. Sad, but not unusual. Even mainstream publications are also paying peanuts for content.

Now that we have so many citizen journalists and bloggers, the price of content has plummeted. Now, that doesn't mean the content is good, but many people just don't care.

Here's an article that ran in the LA Times to that point: