The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Memory foam mattresses

Is there a big difference between the brand Temperpedic and "off-brand" memory foam mattresses? We are looking to purchase one and the dude is quite insistent on the brand name, whereas I am more of a bargain shopper.

I'm no expert, but I've found the memory foam of any type to be very hot. A friend had a Temperpedic and got rid of it within two years --- besides being hot, it had molded to her body shape --- which it isn't supposed to do --- and was very uncomfortable. YMMV, though.

I own a memory foam mattress topper and it is great. We didn't replace our box spring or mattress, just got the foam topper from Overstock.com. I couldn't be happier and I have had it for several years now.

I don't find the pad to be too hot to sleep on. However if you lose power in your house during the winter, you'll find the foam gets pretty hard in the cold. It takes some body heat to soften it up again.
    Where Norwegian Fjords Rule
    http://www.ironwood-farm.com

We have a tempurpedic. I love it, as does our husband (and our dog, who gets up there every chance she gets). I don't find it hot at all, although I will agree that it does take a few minutes to soften up in the winter if we forget to turn the upstairs heat up before going to bed.
    I'm usually a bargain shopper, but I feel like mattresses are something you don't want to skimp on.
    Amateur rider, professional braider.
    ----
    Save a life, adopt a pet.

I bought one off the internet in October (knock-off) and I love it. But my hubby complains that his side now has a slope to it and he is not happy with that. Anyone have a suggestion?
    PennyG