The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Hanoverian Breeding Questions from a newbie!

Hi all you knowledgeable breeders out there! I was hoping to get some general advice on the possibility of breeding a horse for myself. I have an 07 Don Frederico filly out of a Wesley (Weltmeyer) mare. I have switched from eventing to Dressage, and am currently riding my ex-Prelim horse 3rd level with hopes of more. I have never owned a WB, and that being said, am not well versed in lines or breeding, but I want to ride Dressage horses who have GP ability. I am an amateur and am 5'3, so I don't need a huge horse. My first question-What are the advantages / disadvantages to breeding a 3 year old vs. an older mare. My filly was born in April 07 and I just sticked her at 15'1! Ouch! She string tests to 16h, so I am assumming she is not done growing, but won't be over 16H. Some of the local vets have said it can take away from the mares' height to breed them while still growing? This filly is mine to keep, as I love everything about her-including her strong personality! She has been easy for me to start, long-line and backed myself so I would love another like her-maybe just a bit bigger! My second question is what are some stallion suggestions? I seem to either love all the smaller guys (Royal Prince, Benidetto, Rubino Bellissmo,) or ones that have similar lines-(I love Don Principe)! I have heard doubling up on Donnerhall might be bad but when I eliminate Donnerhall and Weltmeyer what are my choices? Again, this is a horse for me and I can breed her whenever it would be best, as I plan on riding her. Any ideas would be welcomed, and again, pardon my ignorance.

I wrote a really long answer which wast lost and now I don't have time to write that long again.

Summary:

Yes - you should breed her now as 3-yearold!