The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

I need advice & thoughts on how this can be done.
    I am new to coyotes presence in our country. I live in Warrenton,Va. area which is mostly populated with foxes. But coyotes have been moving in periodically and yesterday I had a disturbing experience with a pair of coyotes while on a trailride with my 55# neutered male english springer spaniel.
    I have foxhunted for 25 years but their behavior confounded me. They came after my dog & I but I was able to break them off vocally and by riding toward them (like you would with fighting hounds etc). They barked repeatedly and followed us. The male followed us about 2 miles and broke off when I went into the open & out of the woods. He repeatedly barked & followed us very closely. Usually 30-40 ft parallel to me. Fortunately my dog responded well to my voice to stay with me and seemed to respect them ie: not go after them. Their proximity to me and brazen behavior was surprising despite my yelling & various attempts to shoo them off.
    My guess is that they might have cubs or a den near my farm which is surrounded by woods. But its kinda late for them to have cubs?? The female was larger than the male and initially more aggressive. I assume I shouldn't take my dog riding anymore. This will break his heart! http://chronicleforums.com/images/cu...milies/lol.gif He is kept in fenced in yard but is let out to run pastures at various times.
    Questions: How do you handle a situation like above? Is there anything I can carry or do to more effectively shoo them along? Should I stay in the open? Ignore them? Are they a danger to me & my horse? Danger to me on foot? Danger to my Dog? (Like Duh, yes but how so? he doesn/t seem interested in them) Any advice or cautions?
    I look to you hunters who have coyotes in your country. Thanks for sharing!!