The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Cool Meredith Manor- Who's gone?

I am hopefully going to start Winter 2010, but how many of you have gone or want to attend? Do you think of the program itself and the school as a whole?

Was there in 1982-3. Can't tell you what's current there now, other than from when I graduated, to now there have been alot of changes. Reputation was high, then very low.
    There are quite a few who post here that have been to MM earlier and later than myself.
    Good luck in what you decide.
    I would recommend and college education, as in a degree, to fall back on if whatever career in horses does not work. Perhaps a degree in accounting or something practical so that if something should happen like an injury that may prevent you from an active horse career. better than flipping burgers at Mcdonalds, unless that is also a goal.

I was also there in the early 80's! For summer sessions. The first time I was there it was great. The second time I think it was just after Kay Meredith left... it was not great. haven't paid much attention to it since.

I second what jcotton says... go someplace that you can get a degree in a fall-back career.

Here is one fairly recent thread on the subject of MM. If you search I am sure more will come up.

http://www.chronofhorse.com/forum/sh...Meredith+Manor

I have not been there but have had experience with two "professionals" who were graduates of MM. Neither were worth their salt in their chosen profession. Not sure that they are indicative of the school's product as a whole.....
    Ridge Farm Inc.-full care retirement
    http://www.horseretirementfarm.com

I know of one person that graduated from their riding program. She is hard working, teaches beginner lessons and mucks stalls.

The one that graduated from their farrier program can barely form a complete sentance. I'll stop there.