The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Best clippers for body clipping and show clipping

I'm looking to buy new clippers and I was wanting something that would strong enough to body clip maybe one to two horses per year and then be good enough to do a show clipping.

Obviously I'll need to have interchangeable blades for each process.

Thoughts on the best purchase for the job?

Lister Star clippers, or Whal K2

Andis Agc super 2 speeds with the T-84 blades--- I clip for a living and they are what I use
    The only difference between a runaway and a fast gallop is nothing but a SMILE
    Most horses cross the Rainbow Bridge, but TEDDY JUMPED IT!!!
    Member of the COTH Enabler Clique

Andis all the way!! I also clip professionally and I have 3 sets of Andis clippers, one set in use for the past 5 years and still going strong. My newest set is the lightspeed with the LEDs for dark horses/barns. The T-84 blades are great for body clipping and a small set of clippers is much easier than an old set of clipmasters.
    Just cause you move to Texas, doesn't mean you are a Texan. After all, if a cat puts her kittens in the oven, It doesn't make them Bisquits.

I'm going to kind of get in on this conversation - I took in a horse that has matted hair to the skin; he has Cushing so he's got a lot of hair. I brushed him a long time today and got loose hair but the matts are just awful; all over his body. Do I try and clip them off or use scissors? I've never had a horse with matts this bad. HELP I feel so sorry for him.

Quote Originally Posted by zahena View Post
    Yup, those are them! Great clippers. I fully body clip about 5 horses each year, and do show trim ups on about 10, and they work great. They are really quiet, don't get hot, and they are light. Love them!