The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Letting a horse go on trial

I have been selling horses for about 15 years. I rarely let a horse go on trial and I have sold about 80 or so horses in the last 10 years. The few times I have let a horse go out, over 90% of the time they come back with riding issues they never exhibited before. I don't let them go on trial with the exception of the lesson ponies. I have had people inquire about horses in the 5 figure range and tell me that if I let the horse go on trial I will probably sell it and if I don't, they won't even come out to try the horse. I Have offered to bring the horse to their facility to try, within reasonable driving distance. I have clients that WILL NOT even consider letting a horse go out regardless of who the trainer is at the barn of the prospective purchaser. I am just not comfortable sending out horses unsupervised by me that we have spent months or years on. I will let a horse go for a few days if that purchaser wants their vet to do the vetting, but that's it.
    Anyone else have these issues? Love to hear about good and bad experiences.
    www.hilltopfarmva.com

Facebook: Hilltop Farm VA

showmomturnedrider Guest