The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Windward Farm, Washougal, WA- our work in progress, our money pit, our home!

Default Can I get a jingle or two? Post-surgery Update 2-5-10

Had a stop in my lesson last night. My fault. I exited stage left, landing on my left rib/shoulder ON the ground line. I heard my ribs crack. I then drove myself to the ER--dumb, yes, I don't need more people to point that out!

I broke my humerous up next to the shoulder, and a few ribs. I'm seeing an ortho today (I hope) to see if a surgical repair is needed--most likely is, says ER doc. I'm in just a sling and a lot of pain

I have a small farm to take care of, I'm a teacher and this really hurts. Pain meds coming back up as soon as i take them. ugh. I'm in a full blown pity party right now.

Why do I do this stupid sport again? And, typing by hunt and peck is really hard! how long do broken ribs last?

Monday: Met with surgeon. Now I know why they referred me to the "shoulder expert". Mine is "exploded" into 4 pieces--the worst thing possible. Best case scenario they can slide them all into place and pin/screw. Worser case--maximum invasive with plates, screws, pins, huge incision. Worst case--I've cut off the blood supply (evidence on xray already) and the humeral head will die and I'll need a shoulder replacement.

Most awful thing. No more jumping. Probably no riding. If I hit it again, then what??! I'm sobbing as I type. Which really hurts, since my ribs are broken. I'm in the throes of a major pity party. WAhhhh...!