The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Possibly Stupid Question: Horse Feed "To Go"

I'm new to full-care and showing (at the same time).

This barn is full-care 100% (hay and grain). I only feed a dash of salt as a supplement as one of the grains fed by the barn is a ration balancer.

We're heading out overnight for a show in a couple weeks. Do I ask the BO for for the hay and grain I'll need? Do I offer to package it up myself or ask her to do it? Or am I expected to supply my own?

I know it makes sense to ask for it, as it would be fed if we were there, but yesterday when we trailered out for a day and I asked for my horse's lunch "to go" she seemed surprised or annoyed, so I'm not sure.

Yes, I would take his grain. You are paying for it and should get to use it.

I use big freezer Ziploc bags and put a meal in each. I would package it yourself, it's easy and only takes a second, and you won't have to bother the BO about it.

Maybe she's surprised that you're asking? I always just do it myself and go take the grain I need out of the feed room.

Taking hay & grain "to-go" has been standard at every barn I've boarded at. Sure it can be abused (people taking multiple bales for a weekend and wasting it) but that's a separate issue. I might give the BO a head's up and ask if it is OK for you to get the goods yourself, in case she's protective of her feed room.
    ...somewhere between the talent and the potato....

Do it yourself -but make sure you give her some advance notice (even a few days) so she knows if she needs to re-order sooner than planned. (It *shouldn't* make a difference number wise but just in case!)