The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default First time horse buyer {VA/MD people please!}

First off, I am new to COTH. I have been browsing the forums for a while, and finally decided it was time to get an account.

Second of all, I was looking for some advice from some experienced horse buyers. I would rather not post the details of the situation, or the horse here because of the possibility that those involved could be identified. However, I really would like some advice when it comes to this. If at all possible, you could PM me saying that you could help me out, that would be great. Again, it is really nothing bad, I would just feel more comfortable via PM or email in this particular situation.

I'm sorry for clogging the boards, however I am new and figured it wouldn't that great to PM random people willy-nilly!

I suppose it really doesn't have to be just MD/VA people. Anyone who is an experienced horse buyer. I just thought since that is my area, I might be able to get specifics.

Thanks again. :]

Check your inbox!

Feel free to PM me. We live in Northern VA. I know more about eventing horses and pony club horses than jumpers, but many of the basics are the same across the disciplines.

A few of my usual suggestions are as follows: Get a good vetting. We like to get a board certified surgeon with a lot of lameness experience to do our vettings. This may be more extensive than is necessary but we really like to know about any potential problems before we own the horse.

Try the horse out on several occasions to be sure you and the horse are well suited to each other. A horse can be beautiful, sound and athletic, but not the right horse for you or your family. I always like to get the opinion of two trainers before I allow myself to trust my judgement about whether or not this is "Mr. Right Horse."