The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Unhappy Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls - Harmless or Harmfull for a dog?

I could wack myself for not paying more attention. I'm still new to dogs and clearly need to do a better job at checking everything is dogproof, not within reach etc.

Anway, whilst mucking out my stalls, I had my new dog free in a small area I had fenced off inside my barn, I thought I had closed all bins, put away treats etc. I heard him lick/chew, but I thought he was having fun with his rawhide , somehow he pulled an Uncle Jimmy's hanging ball off the cupboard and probably licked/chewed it for about 10 mins. From looking at it, he may have ingested about the size of a very small cherry tomato or large grape.
    I just checked the ingredients :

ground corn, sugar, corn syrup, oats, soybean meal, soybean hulls, wheat middings, vegetable oil refinery, lipid, corn germ meal, mollases products, calcium carbonate, calcium phosphate, salt, brewers yeast, sodium bentonite, vegetable oil, vitamin A supplement, vitamin D2 supplement, d-alpha tocopharol acetate, ribiflavin supplement, thiamine, mononitrate, artificial flavors, L-Lysine, vitamin B12 supplement, calcium paniothenate, niacin supplement, menadione sodium, bisulfrie complex(source of vitamin K activity) choline chloride, manganous oxide, ferrous sulfate, colbalt carbonate, copper sulfate, zinc oxide, potassium iodide, artificial colors, and sodium selenite.

Anything dangerous/poisoneous in there for him?

I feel really bad now. So far he seems totally normal, but it only happened 2 hours ago, so he may still go sick?

I suggest some air freshener.

When my dogs eat a bit of grain they tend to..... fart. A lot.

He'll survive. Just be glad he ate it *before* the horse did.
    --
    Wendy
    ... and Patrick

Okay, I don't mind the farting.
    Does this mean he could bloat?