The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Please give me the words to say to my farrier

Little bit of background. I've used this farrier for five years. He is the only one who has ever shod my appy mare. I was satisfied until the last two times he shod her when I noticed that her almost round feet were fast becoming narrow. Her heel was narrow. Her frog looked long and narrow and then to top it off she started forging. This mare nine years old has NEVER forged before. I was going to talk to him about it the last time he came to shoe but when he pulled her shoes we found whiteline disease and I was so horrified that I didn't mention the other.

Now I've been treating her feet for seven months and the wld is gone. Her feet are absolutely beautiful, almost round, wide heel, lovely wide frog. Rode her barefoot day before yesterday and nary a hint of forging. I...want...her..feet..to... stay.. like.. this but I cannot keep her bare. We ride on too many rocks.

My blacksmith is a good friend and I love him but I can't let him murder my horses feet. When I mentioned the forging before he swore he wasn't doing one thing different but I know he was. I hate to fire him but if he can't do better then I have no choice.

Now what do I say to him? I want the feet to stay this wide! I want the heel and frog to stay JUST like this? OR?

What does it sound to you that he is doing to my horses feet? Leaving too much toe? Pinching the heel in?
    He often rasps toes off from the front, does that sound wrong?

Somebody please give me some ammunition so I can at least sound like I know what I'm talking about so I can take him on Monday when he comes to put the first shoes she's had in seven months on.

Sadly I even suspect that the wld came about because of the crappy shoeing jobs.