The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Winter Jackets

I've been searching for a winter jacket that I can take with me to Maine while I won't be riding much in Maine, I need to be able to ride in it. I've currently been looking at snowboarding jackets since they're a little more fashionable, but I'm open to pretty much anything. I'd like to keep the cost pretty low as I am a college student. Thank you!
    "Riding a horse is not a hobby to be picked up & laid down, it is a grand passion. It seizes a person whole & once it has done so, he will have to accept his life will be radically changed." - RWE

I get my jackets from GAP. They are always warm and usually on sale!

I just bought (this week) a great North Face Jacket from TJ Maxx. It is the warmest and lightest weight coat that I have ever seen. Puffy like a down jacket but VERY VERY light. It was $99. It retailed for over $200. I will ride in it, ski in it. And it is waterproof. Heck, I could probably scale Mt. Everest in it.

I have two Columbia 3-in-1 coats. One I paid the ful $220 for but its my 'nice' coat...the other I found on ebay danged near new for $60..was missing the hood. Thats my chore/riding coat. They're super warm.

I also just picked up off Tack of the Day, the Cirrus Irideon coat,,,its THIN, but waterproof and actually really warm. Its designed for riding. I think it was about 65?

Basically anything that blocks wind is awesome because if you can layer a polar fleece shirt of some kind under it, you're GOLDEN. I'm often sweating like CRAZY on a 5 degree day just from pitching hay.

Puffy coats are always warm, but can sorta get in the way for riding if you're worried about your eq or whatever haha.

I'd suggest trying ebay if you're on a budget. Go to stores and find a coat that you love and then hunt it down on ebay