The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Becoming a Working Student for Florida Winter Circuit

I was wondering if you guys could explain the job of a working student to me and how I could go about finding a trainer to work for. I want to stay in Florida for a month, without a horse.

Here is a little back round info: I have been showing in the 3'6" divisions for almost 5 years and have gone to all of the equitation finals multiple times, mostly on green horses. I have never had a groom and I ride absolutely everything. I can braid really well too. I am a junior in high school and I would have to go to school down there.

What kind of jobs would I be doing? Would I be payed or would it be a work to ride deal? Is it hard to go to school and work?

I have a couple of trainers in mind that know me, but if you guys know of any other trainers showing at WEF or Ocala that would be great! Hopefully these questions don't sound obvious, sorry if they do.

Smile Try this website....

www.wellington-wef.com
    It has kind of changed the format (I liked it better as it was before...) but under classifieds you can post or read if anyone needs help or a rider. Usually everybody showing there posts there...
    Good Luck!
    Viv
    Over what hill? Where? When? I don\'t remember any hill....

www.freewebs.com/caballerizadelviso

These streets will make you feel brand new, big lights will inspire you, let's hear it for New York

I *almost* did that this year. Here's what I ran into:

Some may not apply, but I'll cover all the bases mentioned to me when I was contemplating it.

1. Most people won't want you for a month. And even if this will take you, you won't be worth enough to them that it won't cost you any money. You definitely wouldn't be earning money--you never are in a WS situation.

2. School.