The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default SPINOFF on Sundowner Thread...What are safest trailers?

The thread about the Sundowner problems really has me concerned; I always thought Sundowner was one of the best trailers out there!

I'd like to hear from the trailer experts...what are the best brands, in terms of safety and durability?

Thanks!

I'm not an expert, but I do feel that safety is something that also has to be followed by the owner of the trailer. I see way too many BP trailers that are hooked up incorrectly - that is the angle is wrong, the trailer is too high or too low at the hitch. You must make sure the trailer is level. They sell hitches that have 1", 2" 3" drops to achive this.

It is also vital to make sure you get the wheel bearings repacked or replaced and greased regularly, make sure your brakes are working properly, the axles aren't broken or damaged, you have the correct tires and tire pressure, and that you drive safely and not at 90 miles an hour, screeching around corners, etc...

It is also vital to have the right size vehicle towing your trailer, so you can STOP the trailer in an emergency.

I took my '03 trailer in last fall to be serviced and found out I needed new brakes - I had not idea they had gone bad, so it's vital to get your trailer checked out yearly by a professional that you trust.

I have learned tons of great info from www.trailerhorseworld.com the site is filled with alot of experts that haul semi trailers or are professional haulers. They know what they are talking about, so visit the site and you can learn a lot. I know I have and it makes the road a safer place for everyone.

I'm not an expert....but I know quite a few people who are in love with the Jamco trailers. I have several friends who are also happy with their Trailet trailers.

If I were shopping, I would look at one of these two or possibly a Hawk.