The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Blanketing a wet horse?

Ok, so I am new to the world of blanketing because upuntil this year I have had no need to blanket any of my guys. The one who now needs a blanket is my now thin heaves horse (a chore to keep any weight on him.)

I got him a midweight Weetherbeta Orican blanket with hood. He has been wearing the blanket the past couple nights and I remove it during the day for warmer temperatures. Well I didn't realize it was going to rain today and it was in the mid 40's this morning so I removed the blanket.

It has rained all day and he shivering(I haven't been home long otherwise I'd had put his blanket back on already.)

So my question is...can I blanket him while he is wet? I know it is not ideal but I also do not have shelter access beyond trees at the moment from an incident with the barn which will be corrected in the next couple weeks. Until then, there is no barn access. This also means I have no place to dry him off at.

So is it best to just leave him be or should I go ahead and put his blanket on him?

Put his blanket on. If you have the opportunity to towel dry him before, or sweat scrape, all the better (you can use the side of your cupped hand if a sweat scraper is not available), but if not, just put his blanket on.

And, if you have one, put a cotton or wool sheet on him underneath his heavier blanket to soak up the moisture, then remove it when it gets wet. Cotton coolers are great for absorbing moisture, but don't wick it away, so they need to be removed when wet. That will at least give him a dryer coat under his blanket.

Most blankets now are quite breathable.

They won't trap the moisture inside and cause problems the way blankets used to.

If I have horse that's shivering I generally towel dry, put a mesh or wool cooler on, then put a blanket over them.