The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

up the hill from the little river (that floods alarmingly often)

Default Newer Horseware or Dover turnouts and neck rugs?

How do these attach? How well do they stay put?

I'd like to get a no-fill neck rug for my body clipped mare, but I've never used them before and would like to know more about how they attach and fit before buying. Thanks.
    Last edited by onelanerode; Dec. 8, 2009 at 03:48 PM. Reason: clarity
    Full-time bargain hunter.

I have my field boarded mare in a Rambo Supreme Light for the first time this winter -- The velcro attachmet for the neck seems very secure, and it hasn't come undone even a little bit -- It's a neat design -- There's velcro along the outside of the neck openning on the blanket -- There's also velcro covered with webbing that folds back over the neck openning velcro, so the velcro would stay clean if you removed the hood --

My mare hasn't gotten any rubs (surprising to me because the original Rambos rubbed her shoulders) --

Check out the Horsewear web site -- They have a catalog that shows all of their blankets -- You can't really see the details of the neck on the Rambo Supreme, but there's a picture of one of their California blankets without the hood attached, and that appears to use the same design --
    "I never mind if an adult uses safety stirrups." GM

I have the California right now and am going to get the Supreme Lite.
    The velcro holds great, will not come off if horse is grazing or sleeps prone.

I've used velcro neck rugs since 2005 and never has one come loose on a Rambo or on a Weatherbeeta Taka. And my horses were boarded in woods and brush and fallen trees and with really mean and nasty horses, so the neck rugs, unlike fly masks, never came off.

Get a neck rug. It really does keep rain off of the shoulders.