The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Tail bag - for a too-long, too-thick tail!

OK, that's it, I can't stand it any more. Either Quattro is going to become the first banged-tail Saddlebred since... well I don't know when, the War of Nawth'n Aggression maybe... OR I've got to break down and get him a tail bag!! Between the mud and the burrs it takes me *hours* to pick it out (doesn't help that he rolls 15 times a day *in* the burrs - or at least I guess he does; he comes in covered with them nose thru tail). God preserve me if I skip picking his tail a couple of days; then he looks like the "before" pic of a neglected rescue horse, with a chunk of tangled up burrs and tail! Clearly this won't do...

I've never used a tail bag before, so can our resident experts enlighten me as to what would be the optimum tail bag for a tail that really is already too long and too thick? I keep looking at the triple-tube ones but I don't see how I could cram all that tail in there...

Edumacate me please - much appreciated! Thanks!
    "The standard you walk by is the standard you accept."--Lt. Gen. David Morrison, Austalian Army Chief

I'm no tail bag expert, but have you tried loading him up with a silicone detangler (ie, Vetrolin Detangler)? Once the tail is nicely coated with that, burrs just slide right out without any effort.

I've made and sold tail bags for years and have made many that are extra wide for exactly the type of tail you describe.

They aren't all that difficult to make. If you sew at all, you'd be fine. Otherwise, try to find someone who makes them and just request a few added inches.

I'd stick with the single tube type tail bag, but I prefer them myself anyways in general.

Quote Originally Posted by amastrike View Post