The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Condylar Fracture

I am interested in a horse that has a condylar fracture. It was repaired and then the horse raced for 4 more years on it and has never been unsound per the owner. I am curious as to what the long term soundness potential is with a horse with this kind of fracture? I am going to speak further with the owner and call the surgeon as well, besides speaking with my vet. Any ideas?
    "If you pick up a starving dog and make him prosperous, he will not bite you. This is the principal difference between a dog and a man." Mark Twain

Not sure, but I'd say if the horse was racing 4 more years on the healed fracture, I'd say it will probably be okay. Especially if it is going to be a pleasure mount. But I'm no expert by any means!

There's no reason to be concerned about it. Buy the horse if you like it.

A non displaced condylar fracture is probably one of the least serious injuries a horse can get. Don't give it a second thought.

I agree, if the horse raced for 4 years afterwards he is probably going to be fine for anything you could choose to do with him.

Just a question tho - what do you expect to gain by calling the surgeon - who operated on him more than 4 years ago and has no doubt operated on thousands of horses since then? I cannot imagine he will be able to remember details on a horse he operated on that long ago. When was the last time the surgeon saw the horse in person?

I am NOT trying to be snarky, just curious. I had an owner that had me calling people who had the horse years ago - it's irritating for me, the other people, and completely unproductive because what the horse did 3 years ago is completely irrelevant to what the horse is doing now. Granted it's not exactly the same scenario as what you describe.
    Jessi Pizzurro ~~ Pennyroyal Stables
    Racehorses, OTTBs ~~ 330 383 1281