The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Professional advice for a sticky situation!! Kinda long...

I am a young professional who started my own small barn and riding program 3 years ago in a VERY tough new city. I have worked very hard (as most professionals do) to form positive professional relationships with other local trainers/barns, and of course all of my clients.

There is another young trainer in town who started a strictly "beginner" barn about a year ago. I was very supportive with her when she first started out, but she has since crossed the line of "professional competition" and I'm not sure how I should handle it.. I could use all the help I could get here....

A few examples...

I came up with a creative slogan to use in my barn's advertising (posters, website, business cards, etc.) she changed two words around and used it in a major advertising campaign...

My husband is a photographer, and she asked if she could use one of his photographs to use strictly on her website. He agreed and she then used it for all sorts of printed advertising (posters, business cards, pamphlets, etc.) with out permission.

I organized an annual Schooling Show series and wrote a special "Dear Competitor" letter to welcome participants to our show and explain our "mission" at our show. She then organized a fun show at her barn and copied and pasted my letter and inserted her name..