The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

horses2009 Guest

Question beginning riding

Hi. I am new at riding and have been taking lessons now for about 7 months. So far, I have done posting the trot and half seat. I am not planning on any particular discipline, but I just want to learn to ride. I thought I was doing well, and my legs were getting stronger. Then I had a new person teach me who just made things so much worse. My hands had to be up by the martingale and I have to lean forward so much and my heels are forced down. I don't feel right in the saddle, and my back is about a 45 degree angle to the ground, which I don't think is right, either. How does one know if they are getting a good teacher?

Any help would be appreciated.

Where are you located? Someone on this board can probably recommend a good program to you.
    -Debbie / NH

My Blog: http://deborahsulli.blogspot.com/

It can be really, really tough to find good instruction that is a good fit for YOU. At my barn, there are 2 instructors with two very different styles. And almost all teachers are gong to have a slightly different position they want you in, which can vary from horse to horse.
    Visit the barns in your area. Try to meet the horses, check out the tack room, talk to the instructors and ask what goals they would want you to meet and how they would get you there. And instructor that can't explain WHY they want you to do things a certain way in a way you can understand is not going to be a good fit.
    It does help to have a goal: I want to event, I want to learn to train horses, I want to be able to hack out on the trails, I want to show.
    As an aside, the position the new instructor wants you to have can be EXTREMELY beneficial in developing an independent seat and leg, which if you can post is about where you need to be.