The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Help with pasture.

Moving my horses to our new house in January (2 horses on 5 acres). I have been told this is a good time of year to seed, fertilize, etc. Any suggestions? The previous owners had been making hay off of this land prior to us buying it so it is thick, but does have some weeds I would like to get rid of. Is there any type of general weed -n- feed that can be put down. Seed - ?

I am new at this, can you tell? Any suggestions would be great!
    COURAGE is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway. ~John Wayne

http://www.chronicleofmyhorse.com/pr...rivateDiamonds

You can talk with your agricultural extension office for good advice.

What *I* would do is just fence the field and leave it. Next spring/summer I would mow it regularly. I've done that with my fields for five years now, and they look fantastic (much less weedy, I mean). If you mow before the weeds get too tall and/or go to seed the grass is what thrives and the weeds end up dying out.

As for fertilization, I don't really understand why you would do that -- I'm not being snarky, I really don't understand. I believe beautiful manicured green grass is much more nutrient dense than most horses need. Not to say I want brown fields, but many horses get too fat on rich grass. (So, that's a question -- what type of horses are yours -- easy keepers, or hard?)

What will you be doing about the poop? I harrow my fields, so the poop is broken up and disintegrates quickly. That is -- obviously -- fertilizing the field. And in my opinion, all the field needs.

If you are concerned about the field getting eaten down too much, have a sacrifice paddock (something like 100 x 100) where you can put them for half the day and half the day out, to solve that problem.

Have fun!

Windward Farm, Washougal, WA- our work in progress, our money pit, our home!