The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Hind Splint injuries? Update: It's Broken

First off let me preface this post by saying I am a newbie, I have owned my horse for almost 2 years and ridden for 8 but as far as health and injury type stuff goes I still have a whole lot to learn.

The facts: mare is a 10 yr old tb, she raced til she was 5 and then sat around for 4 years til I purchased her.

At the end of August she developed cellulitus in her RH leg (which I beleive is irrelevant but I wanted everything known). She had a shot of cortizone and the swelling went nearly all the way down. Then during the first week of October she got what I believe is a kick to the outside of her RH and there was a small cut about 3/4 the way up on the back side of her cannon.

Cold hosed it for a week per vets direction w/ 3 days of bute and 1 week of antibiotics. Swelling went down some but still stuck around. Sweat wrapped it for a week and it seemed to "soften" the leg, then she hit the leg AGAIN on the fense (I saw her do it) and it blew up agian (this was last thursday). Left it alone for a few days and some swelling went down but there still is some that just won't go away.

Called the vet out very worried now, Vet says there is a chance that the splint may be fractured or broken and recommends x-rays or it may just needs more time and circulation (I haven't been riding her during all of this). She has never taken a lame step.

So I have an appointment to get x-rays next week.

Anyone have any experience with this? I just feel so ignorant and blind because I just don't know enough yet.

-sigh-
    Last edited by *JumpIt*; Nov. 6, 2009 at 09:44 PM.
    “It's about the horse and that's it.” - GM

!! is the new .

bump for the evening crowd...

!! is the new .