The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default For those who started eventing later in life...

I'm curious how many people started eventing a little later in life. Me for example. I went to the '96 olympics and fell in love with the sport. At the time I was a carefree 23 year old. Well, shortly after that I got accepted into optometry school, met my husband, got married and had a baby....not much time for horses in there. At 31 I started riding again. At 35 I finally did my first recognized BN event. I'm hoping someday I'll be brave enough to do a Training level 3 day.....we'll see.

So when did you start, how far have you gone, and how far do you want to go??
    Harmonys Maestro: 1992-2008 RIP
    Morally Grey - Training level here we come

Great thread. Spent my teen and young adult years working my *ss off in exchange for riding lessons. Rode a little in between college and having kids, finally got my very own horse at age 38. First event at 39.

Flash forward 3 years and a new horse and I'm having a BLAST at Training level. Working my hardest to see Prelim next year.

Age is a state of mind. Welcome to eventing

Me. I grew up riding western and had a 25-year break from horses. Started riding again only English at 41. A couple of years later, did my first BN event. I am starting all over again. I lost my mare three years ago and have been waiting for her baby to grow up. She is now 4 y.o. and been under saddle a year. But, I have to get back to being secure over fences with a youngster. So, I am really starting again later in life. :-)

I rode western for years. When my daughter started eventing I played at jumping for a good while. Didn't get to enter real events til a few years ago. So I have been eventing 2-3 years and I am 58 so that makes it about 55 when I started. I go Novice might go training but not prelim!