The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Clipping Question

I ride outside all winter in what can be cold/wet/snowy weather. Generally just hacking to help keep some sort of fitness level on both our parts. I usually start more serious schooling in early March and showing in mid to late April. Because horse is outside all winter (riding and turnout, but horse does NOT live out), usually I let the critter be hairy until the beginning of March and then he gets a full horse show worthy body clip. But this year, I have a new horse and he's getting too sweaty for the work we are doing NOW.

Therefore, I am thinking of doing some sort of partial clip (maybe trace clip?). I have never done any partial clipping before (but am proficient at the body clip so no worries with the clip process). Wondering how effective a trace clip might be? Right now he's sweaty all over after working - neck, chest, back, girth area, flank. Is the trace clip going to keep him cool enough that his back won't get too sweaty? How would you blanket/sheet a trace clipped horse vs. the all natural hairy horse vs. the full body clipped horse?

And equally important . . . how's it going to look if I do a trace clip now and then the full body clip in March? Is there going to be any way to notice that he was previously clipped in certain areas? Or will he look as he normally does when freshly body clipped? Can't have him looking awful for the show ring!

We have a horse at hte barn who I swear is a yak/wolly mammoth cross. He lives outside 24/7. Last year, he was so hairy that they did a trace clip on him so he wouldn't take 2 hours to dry out after a light workout. He was, of course, blanketed to stay warm enough.

She did take him to a couple of smallish shows in April, then to a rated in May, and he was fine.
    A proud friend of bar.ka.