The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Bareback Dressage Rider Sinners Club; anyone else?

This is a spinoff from the thread about Bergamon being ridden in western tack - oh the horrors!

I started riding at about age 4 and had to earn my way into a saddle. That took a good 5+ years to get to that point. Dad bought me a honkin' 75 lb western saddle that I couldn't lift onto my horse's back, so I "down graded" to a jumping saddle. The rest is history! 38 years later, here I am! 22 years of riding dressage and I confess . . . I broke down a rode bareback the other day!

I decided to ride one of my dressage horses BAREBACK the other day! I rode him in a Dually Halter with reins and a western pad and anti-casting surcingle to hold it on (he's way too big for a bareback pad); HORRORS! I wonder if I "ruined" him? Oh, and this is my FEI I1 horse and only the second time I'd ridden him bareback - first time with anything resembling a halter or hackamore!! Of course, he did buck and porpoise at first - hey, that is what the roll bar (as I call it!) it for; a handle to stay on! We did passage, trot S/I and H/P, canter S/I, tempi changes, and pirouette's bareback and w/ halter! Frankly, I was surprised!

Needless to say, I was beyond ecstatic that we could be so connected together, sans any specific equipment!! I was smiling so hard ear to ear, I almost cried; too much fun! Good boy; whata guy!!

Any other Bareback Dressage Riders out there?

Proud owner of one Lunar acre! (Campanus Crater, The Moon)

I LOVE hopping on my guys bareback (when they don't have shark fin withers ). It's much warmer in the winter when you're just hanging out on them.
    "Relinquish your whip!!"