The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Starvation to Show Ring in ..... ?

how long? I know it obvs differs from horse to horse, but ballpark? Assuming there are no other health issues.

Long story short, these people basically just dumped this horse off on my neighbor. Day before yesterday. It was at most, a couple weeks away from dying of starvation. So in 48 hours she (neighbor) is totally in love. She asked me how long does it take, and I have no experience with starvation horses. What do you guys think?

Oh, sorry. Its a mare, they think a PMU. Maybe 6? a paint/ pinto/ draftie type. she is thinking hunter. (cute mover, even without energy)

It could take up to a year+ for some, depending on health issues. First, they have to gain weight, which is a slow process in itself. Then there is getting the horse in shape enough to start basic training (depending on how much training the horse previously had). There is going to be time where just walking is all she is going to do until the horse is even fit enough to trot. Then on top of that the horse has to be schooled to a point where it can be shown.

We got 2 horses at our barn at the beginning of July. They were skinny, but not starving, and both are very green (basic w/t/c jump a cross rail). Even today they still need to gain lots more weight and muscle, and are just really starting to jump. Just small stuff. But there is no way they will be ready to show until at least April/May and be competitive. We might take them to a few local shows this winter just to get them out, but that's it.

It takes time, but in the end it almost always turns out to be worth it.

I would think it would all depend on the horse.

Tell her to throw a blanket on it, feed it, shaw it and remove the blanket in the spring and see what she has then.