The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Warmblood broodmare wanted – great home in Virginia

I am looking for a warmblood broodmare, dressage or eventing type. If you have a quality mare that is breeding sound that you are looking to re-home, I am interested. I can offer the best of homes. I have a small farm (Virginia) and breed to nationally recognized stallions to get 1-2 quality foals per year. My husband is a vet and I have 30+ years experience with horses, do all my own care and training, all my horses get lots of TLC and individual attention. I’m not looking for a re-sale project but will provide a long-term home. I’d be happy to provide references.

My wish list: Must be registered with a recognized warmblood registry, TBs with dressage movement considered. Must be pretty and correct. Cosmetic defects (injuries) OK. Prefer non-chestnut, prefer 16h+, sound to ride is a plus but not necessary. Must be vice free, have a good temperament, and get along well when turned out with other horses. Must be breeding sound. If the mare is already in foal (to a stallion I am interested in), I will reimburse for breeding expense.

myhorsehannah is offline Working Hunter Premium Member
    Original Poster

bump..anyone?

Would you be willing to take the mare to an inspection? That may open up a few more doors for you...

Also, how old are you looking for? I know a nice little Hann/TB 2 year old (she's registered with AWS, I know) that's being given away since her owner got in over her head with a baby.

Have you checked out the post by Philliab - a few threads below this one?

She has an Oldenburg- MMB approved TB mare - also in VA.

Just a thought.
    Quote Originally Posted by SmartAlex View Post

Give it up. Many of us CoTHers are trapped at a computer all day with no way out, and we hunt in packs. So far it as all been in good fun. You should be thankful for that.