The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Must I ride when I go to look at a horse I'm thinking of adopting?

Ok this is a weird situation and I'd really like some advice on how to handle it. I am going to go look at a horse tomorrow that I am really interested in. He's almost everything I am looking for in a horse and I would be honored to have him be mine.
    My dilemma is that I'm not the best rider anymore. I am out of shape having not ridden anything consistently for the better part of a year. Now I am sort of embarrassed to ride in front of anyone, and am dreading going to go look at this horse tomorrow because I don't want the owners to think I can't ride. I'd much rather ride him when I am at home and more comfortable.
    Since I am a vet tech I can pretty much do my own pre-purchase evaluations and thought I could bring someone to ride him for me so I can watch him from the ground.
    I don't know exactly what I would tell them owners but I figured I could bring someone with me to ride him so I could watch him from the ground. Also the trip is a couple of hours away and whenever I travel that far, I do have issues with my knees and back if I sit too long so I may have to have someone ride him for me anyway.
    What is the best way to handle this without looking incompetent?

You aren't obligated to ride the horse. You aren't obligated to tell them why, either.

anyway, just say you would much rather watch the horse go around with someone else on him. you don't even have to bring a friend. call ahead of time and ask if the owner/rider will be there to ride the horse, explain that you'd like to watch. you could say you've been having some bad joint pain lately and you're taking a week or two off from riding, just so they don't feel odd about it.